Tuesday, October 16, 2012

It's too early for this.......


Some little diva had decided to put her mom and dad into an early panic!
Around 18wks. We have our anatomy scan this Friday. Both Grandmas are coming into town for it.





Last week I wasn't feeling very well. I was having a lot of pressure and what felt like cramps off and on. I tried my best to push through it for a few days but by Wednesday I felt I needed to call my Dr. She sent me home to rest and took me off work for a few days. I went home, relaxing on the couch like I was suppose to. But by 1 pm I was having what I knew were not cramps but small contractions. I could feel my uterus tightening and could even feel it on the outside. They started to get more frequent and a little harder.  I called my Dr. and she had me go down to Labor and Delivery to get checked out. Sure enough I was having contractions. They had me hooked up to the monitor and Greg and I could see them come and go. They weren't huge spikes on the monitor but you could certainly tell when I was having one. I tried my best to stay calm, but all I kept thinking was " I'm only 18w3d, this is too early".

They monitored me for a few hours and checked my cervix. My cervix was still closed and over 3 cm long. After about 5 hours my Dr told me that I wasn't in preterm labor but that I might end up being one of those patients who just contracts throughout her pregnancy. Great! I was sent home on indocine, a medicine to slow or stop the contractions. I went home freaked out!


For the next day and a half I laid on the couch feeling contractions. It's so hard not to focus on them when all I can do is think about them. Friday around 3 am we almost went back into L&D because I could not sleep and the contractions wouldn't stop. I knew I had a Dr. appt that morning around 8 but I didn't know if I would be able to make it till then. I tried laying down and putting my feet up. Well, I was able to fall asleep for the few hours I needed.

I got to my Dr's appt. She checked my cervix, still closed and 3 cm long. But, even at the Dr. office you could see and feel my contractions. She told me not to worry this happens a lot in pregnancy but to just take it easy for 2 weeks. She is hopeful this will just correct itself.

So here I sit or lay on the couch for 2 weeks. I at least make myself get up every morning and take a shower and put on real clothes. I will not give into the laziness of being stuck here! Oh, and Wellington is sure happy that I am here all day long.
My partner in crime for 2 wks. Good god he doesn't stop barking!

Whoever said that pregnancy was fun and easy, needs to kicked in the ovaries! This is not what I expected at all. I expected to be one of those women who could workout all they needed ( how the hell do women run half/full marathons pregnant. I try running 1 mile and I feel like something is going to fall out. And I use to run before getting pregnant) and just coast through these 40 weeks. Doesn't look like that is happening. Hopefully after these 2 weeks I will be cleared to move about the country :)
My FAVORITE part of an ultrasound..ahh she has mommies flippers




 

2 comments:

  1. Did they check you for a UTI? I had that happen frequently during my pregnancies with Alex and Emily and I had UTI's. Never had any syptoms of one, but the test always came back positive. A good dose of antibiotics and the contractions stopped. I can definitely understand being freaked out by the whole thing though. It freaked me out at first, too. Hopefully all gets better for you soon. Pregnancies are no walk in the park...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yep, they checked me for that and I was cleared..both Tuesday and Wednesday. So they don't know why these came on. :(

    ReplyDelete